Season 9 Premiere and Format Changes

Season 9 Premieres May 24

The wait is nearly over! So You Think You Can Dance, the Emmy-nominated hit dance competition series, returns for a ninth season on Thursday, May 24 at 8/7c. The auditions in New York, Los Angeles, Atlanta, Dallas and Salt Lake City feature host Cat Deeley and resident judges Nigel Lythgoe and Mary Murphy, as well as guest judges Debbie Allen, Lil’ C, Tyce Diorio, Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Adam Shankman.

For Season Nine, during which the series will reach its 200th episode, So You Think You Can Dance will once again travel across the country in search of 18 dancers – 9 males and 9 females – from the thousands who auditioned to continue in the competition. Each week, contestants will be paired up to perform inspired pieces choreographed by some of the biggest names in the business. The following week, the couples at risk after the previous week’s performances will be asked to perform solo routines, after which the judges will decide which male and female are eliminated. If a couple is split apart, the two individual dancers who remain become a couple the following week.

So You Think You Can Dance will air once a week, and each jam-packed two-hour show will feature awe-inspiring performances and eliminations, as the contestants compete to be named America’s Favorite Dancer.

Once the series is down to the Top 10, each finalist will be joined by a So You Think You Can Dance All-Star dancer. These All-Stars are experts in various styles of dance – Ballroom, Ballet, Hip-Hop, Contemporary and Jazz – and will partner with one of the Top 10 finalists to perform in their specialty. Each week, it will be revealed who keeps dancing and who goes home.

As announced by Emmy-nominated host Cat Deeley, Season Eight champion Melanie Moore was voted America’s Favorite Dancer last August and danced off with the cash prize of $250,000.  Moore was featured on the cover of Dance Spirit magazine, and as an athlete in Gatorade print ads in select publications and online at

Throughout its eight seasons, So You Think You Can Dance has received 22 Primetime Emmy Award nominations and garnered 10 Emmy wins, including Outstanding Choreography for Mia Michaels in 2011, 2010 and 2007; Napoleon and Tabitha Dumo in 2011; Tyce Diorio in 2009; and Wade Robson in 2008 and 2007. The series also received awards in the category of Outstanding Costumes for Soyon An and Graine O’Sullivan in 2010 and Soyon An in 2009, and Outstanding Lighting Design in 2011. Last year, So You Think You Can Dance celebrated eight Primetime Emmy Award nominations including two firsts: Outstanding Reality-Competition Series and Outstanding Host for Reality or Reality-Competition Series for Cat Deeley.

So You Think You Can Dance was created by Simon Fuller and Nigel Lythgoe and is produced by 19 Entertainment and dick clark productions, inc. The series is executive-produced by Fuller, Lythgoe and Barry Adelman. “Like” So You Think You Can Dance on Facebook at Follow the series on Twitter @DanceonFOX and join the discussion at #SYTYCD.

Visit Source

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Leave a Reply